My apologies for bringing the clouds

This is the discussion forum for the Beginners Special Interest Group. Whether you just learned how to spell t-e-l-e-s-c-o-p-e or have years of observing experience you're welcome!

Moderators: defalkner, Sureshks, SEmert

dunwitch

My apologies for bringing the clouds

Post by dunwitch »

Hello MAS-ers; I'm new to amateur astronomy and would like to introduce myself. I just recieved my new (and first) telescope, so of course clouds are everywhere. My bad. I'm starting with a 90mm (3 1/2 inch) Orion refractor equatorial, and so far it seems to be working extremely well. The images certainly are crisp in daylight! Once I get the hang of polar aligning, starhopping, and squinting, I'll probably join the society and show up at some gatherings, but until I'm not a complete clod I'll be learning on my own. I live in Fridley, but my family owns some land 150 miles north, 16 miles from the nearest town and 4 miles from the nearest electric light, so I'm hoping to be able to see the Messier objects pretty well up there. It's extremely dark. Mostly I want to look at the planets around town and relax under a cloak of stars. I know most of you probably use big reflectors and cassegrains, but I'm mostly interested in refractors, although I'm sure I would grab a used light bucket for kicks at some undefined point in the future.

Well, wish me luck, I have high hopes of splitting Albeiro if there is a break in the clouds at 3 am. Knowing nothing, I hope I'm not setting my sights too high.