Holy Mongo Scope Batman!

This is the discussion forum for the Beginners Special Interest Group. Whether you just learned how to spell t-e-l-e-s-c-o-p-e or have years of observing experience you're welcome!

Moderators: defalkner, Sureshks, SEmert

borbital

Holy Mongo Scope Batman!

Post by borbital »

Ok, so I'm a complete rookie at this. And I was just looking at a basic scope to get started. I ended up getting a meade 2130at. It is not the short version. And even though I read all the dimensions, this is a monster! Have you guys ever gotten your scope in the mail and thought "Wow! umm..where's this gonna go?" To me, this is a freaking beast, and im sure to many of you this is like a pocket scope :P
Too many clouds to view yet, even thogh i did try! Assembly took like 10 minutes. Super easy..then i read directions and i did it right! 8)
oh yeah, that viewfinder tripped me out for a time too. everytning being completely reversed and all. moving it down and right to go up and left will take some getting used to.
I'll let you know what i can see..
rbubany

Post by rbubany »

If you're like the rest of us you will soon decide that the scope you bought is too small. I'm up to a 10" reflector on an equatorial mount that I can barely lift. Counter weights alone weigh 38 pounds.

Many of us (except Jon Hickman) get rid of the finder scope and purchase a Telrad finder instead. Much easier to use. You can find details on the internet by just searching for Telrad.

Nice meeting you!
Ron Bubany
Lazy amateur

Time and Space aren't what they seem
Just magical props in a magical dream
Jon Hickman
Site Admin

Post by Jon Hickman »

rbubany wrote:Many of us (except Jon Hickman) get rid of the finder scope and purchase a Telrad finder instead. Much easier to use.