Second Night Out - Dark Sky and Freezing to Death

This is the discussion forum for the Beginners Special Interest Group. Whether you just learned how to spell t-e-l-e-s-c-o-p-e or have years of observing experience you're welcome!

Moderators: defalkner, Sureshks, SEmert

ScottF

Second Night Out - Dark Sky and Freezing to Death

Post by ScottF »

I took the club loaner scope to central Wisconsin and viewed the heavens from the family farm, something I've dreamed about doing for years. The skies were very dark with a lot to view. I set the Celestron 8SE up, aligned to two stars, and viewed planets while experimenting with the 2X Barlow lens and various Plossl lenses. The results were fun and interesting. I saw the moon of course, then Jupiter, and I was most delighted to see Saturn! It was amazing! I was surprised the planet size was so small. I am still learning about magnification. Because of my inexperience with aligning the telescope with two stars, I wasn't able to take advantage of the higher magnification of 8 or 13 mm lens, sticking with the 25 mm Plossl because I couldn't find the planets with the higher magnification.

While being blown away with the view of Saturn, I was struggling a bit with focusing the 8SE. I'd turn the focus control and the view would jiggle for several seconds under it settled down. Somewhat difficult to fine tune the focus. Is this normal?

When viewing planets, what lenses or magnification do you use to yield the largest size? I went nuts and used the 2X Barlow with a 9 mm lens, and couldn't find Saturn.

I was impressed with the scope's ability to track Saturn over on hour. I was freezing to death, and went inside to warm up and eat dinner, then came outside, and by golly, the scope with still tracking Saturn just fine.