Need suggestions for solar eclipse viewing

This is the discussion forum for the Beginners Special Interest Group. Whether you just learned how to spell t-e-l-e-s-c-o-p-e or have years of observing experience you're welcome!

Moderators: defalkner, Sureshks, SEmert

Gracelovesthegalaxy

Need suggestions for solar eclipse viewing

Post by Gracelovesthegalaxy »

Hi everyone. I’m a high school student and member of MAS and recently decided to help with my school’s total solar eclipse event. We don’t have access to glasses but we thought about doing the hole in the notecard and having those available for students, as well as using sun spotters. I was wondering if anyone has any ideas on how to make this event fun and engaging for students? Thanks!
SEmert

Re: Need suggestions for solar eclipse viewing

Post by SEmert »

Here are a couple of ideas:

1. You already mentioned the hole in the notecard, making a pinhole camera to project the shape of the eclipse on a card/table/ground, etc. You could expand on that idea by taking a cheap, thin cutting board from a dollar store, marking a grid on it and drilling lots of approx. 3/16" holes to project a pattern of eclipse shapes. The more, the merrier!