Power Supply Options

This is the discussion forum for the Beginners Special Interest Group. Whether you just learned how to spell t-e-l-e-s-c-o-p-e or have years of observing experience you're welcome!

Moderators: defalkner, Sureshks, SEmert

Dani

Power Supply Options

Post by Dani »

What options are there for a power supply for a Goto telescope mount? I'm on my second one. I've only had it for only six months and it stopped working. What has worked well for you?
I am new to MAS. I appreciate being able to connect with the forum community.
Dani
Enberg

Re: Power Supply Options

Post by Enberg »

Are you talking about the mount quit working, or the power source (battery) quit working? The "power supply" could also be the transformer that takes 120V and converts it to 12VDC.

Have you tried using different power sources, such as standard 120V, 12V battery packs, etc. to figure out where the problem is? Most of the go-to mounts I have seen use 12VDC with some means of using 120V standard plugs and a converter.
Master Observer
Orion XT10 dob
Orion StarBlast 4.5" f4 on a Dwarfstar alt-az mount
Vortex 10 x 56 binocs
Orion 150mm f12 MakCas
Dani

Post by Dani »

It is the power source that quit working. What do you use for a battery pack?
Dani
Enberg

Post by Enberg »

I have a 12VDC rechargeable battery, with a cigarette lighter socket soldered to the battery terminals. The recharger plugs into the wall and has a cigarette lighter male plug on it. You can buy automobile jump-starters for about $40 if your mount doesn't draw much power. My battery is the same guts as these starters, without the fancy plastic case or jumper cables.

I need to get a 120V cord with converter, for use at observing sites where power is available to plug in.

I don't have a go-to mount, but I do have a dew heater system and an equatorial platform for my dobsonian. Both of these use the cigarette-lighter plug-in for 12V DC.
Master Observer
Orion XT10 dob