Recent June B-SIG event and help requested

This is the discussion forum for the Beginners Special Interest Group. Whether you just learned how to spell t-e-l-e-s-c-o-p-e or have years of observing experience you're welcome!

Moderators: defalkner, Sureshks, SEmert

30salem

Recent June B-SIG event and help requested

Post by 30salem »

I would like to thank all of the experienced observers at Metcalf Field on Saturday evening for their conversations and occasional assistance with my inexperience. Thanks to Bernie S (the other Bernie in the Bernie corner), Clayton, Trena, Brendan and Suresh. These are only the names I can remember but everyone there was generous with their time, conversation and viewing opportunities. Juliana (my wife) lasted much longer than I expected due in great measure to the camaraderie and ease we both felt. I will say one of my most memorable experiences was showing a complete newbie Saturn in the telescope that I brought and hearing her glee at seeing the rings of Saturn with her own eyes! Very cool. This is a wonderful event and I will be back.

Now for the request, I have an 8" MAS loaner Dob and I'm pretty sure it needs collimating beyond my capabilities. The secondary mirror looked off so I "tried" to align it. It is in worse shape than it was. I would really appreciate a home call for a lesson in that as well as the primary mirror work. I live in Woodbury, north of Valley Creek and east of Woodbury drive. Or I can drive to you with the scope(s). (My 5" Newtonian may need help as well.) PM me if you have the time, inclination and ability.

Again, thanks for the event.

bernie
Bernie

Keyholder - ELO and JJC
Celestron 6SE (SCT)
Orion ST130 (Newtonian)
Revolution Imager 2
TrenaJ

Re: Recent June B-SIG event and help requested

Post by TrenaJ »